IT’S TIME TO RE-FOCUS…

I was once asked to speak at a community college on the subject of ‘Making Positive Choices.’  I remember going through my usual routine, and doing my best to prepare… so that I wouldn’t put any students to sleep.  I had my notes, my main ideas, and my supportive details all lined up, and as I began to speak I noticed that I was in competition for student’s attention.

As I glanced out into my audience, I discovered that I was losing the fight for several of the students’s attention.  I WAS LOSING TO TECHNOLOGY!!!

Students were splitting their time listening to me, and reading whatever was so important on their smartphones.  One girl had her laptop open during my entire speech!

I admit that I was a little disappointed, until I realized that these kids were not disrespecting me on purpose.  Most of the students failed to realize what they were doing… because most of the students were addicted to their devices.

That was a few years ago… but today, we see it everywhere!  Technology has produced generations of people who can’t go fifteen-minutes without being distracted by some device.

I’ve seen people walking through the streets looking down at their phones, students in class reading their devices more times than their books, and people taking their devices to the bathroom.  It’s become such an issue that “NO TEXTING WHILE DRIVING” has become a national slogan!

We are all fully engulfed in this ‘technological revolution’… because I have a smartphone as well.

But remember… WITH EVERY REVOLUTION, THERE ARE ADVANTAGES, AND DISADVANTAGES!

And the main disadvantage to this revolution is…

A GENERATION OF PEOPLE WHO CAN’T FOCUS!

Of course… everyone has the ability to focus, but it’s almost impossible today.

So how will this effect our future?  What will tomorrow look like when the majority of our youth spend their heads buried in a phone today?  How strong will our economy be tomorrow when the vast majority of our office workers spend half their time surfing the internet today?

We are losing future intelligence… future artist… future innovators… future graduates… and future leaders.  So when you end your day, ask yourself…

“How much time did I focus on myself, and how much time was I distracted by my devices?”

IT’S TIME TO RE-FOCUS!

Leave a Reply

